My Onenote favourites

I discovered Onenote in early 2007 and little was known about Onenote at that stage. It was quite an experience discovering something that automatically saves your Notes without you having to hit the ‘save’ button. Since then I have been on a journey of discovery for the best tools for my class.

Onenote became an easy to use tool as new features and functions were added. In 2013 i took a break from Onenote to learn more about Google Apps for education. There was plenty of learning that occurred no doubt, some features were easy to use and some not so. What I desperately missed was the ability to navigate through pages with less clicks. With GAFE I found I needed to do this a lot more.

Onenote had developed significantly by then and without any doubt I was back on the Onenote train, empowered as an educator and leader to deliver and lead effectively.

My favourite things about Onenote are:

  1. Tags– this allows one to set tasks, reminders and customize work according to needs. This is brilliant as my students have clarity on what is expected of them.It also helps me to keep track of items needing attention.2. Translate and Language functions is proving to be a winner for my this year. I have a number of International students with limited ability to speak English. Rather than using a separate translator, my students are using the translate function to learn what is being taught in class and at the same time using the opportunity to consolidate their learning through repetition.            

3.Learning tools is well used by students in my class with learning difficulties and even by students who would rather have the text read to them. The ability to cater for student needs through different screen colors, dyslexic fonts or even breaking the text into syllables  has made teaching and learning less challenging. The addition of the update function allows users to update as changes occur. Dictate function is less used in my teaching but another superb function for student use.

4. Convert to Excel Spreadsheet– this feature is helpful as it identifies tables within Onenote and allows the user to convert that table into an Excel spreadsheet at the click of a button: a real time saver.

5. Stickers– have recently been added to Onenote online. Wow what a gamechanger this has been. My 17-18 year old students are competing for stickers- they love it!

There is more that needs to be added to this list….a short summary of my top 5 now.

One thought on “My Onenote favourites

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *